Featured Story

St. Luke’s 2023 Scholars Symposium

This spring, 28 members of the Class of 2023 showcased their mastery research and presentation skills during the annual Scholars Symposium. The scholars’ presentations took place in the Jensen Family Humanities Wing and Upper School Science Wing. After each presentation, audience members were invited to ask questions. All presentations can be viewed below.

The Scholars Program and Symposium, led by Director of Studies Jim Yavenditti, encourages students to forge their own paths by embarking on a yearlong, extensive independent research project on a topic that inspires them. Scholars’ fields of study include classical, global, literary, and STEM subjects. They begin with a deep dive into research, consult with faculty mentors throughout the process, and conclude with a formal presentation of findings at the symposium. 

St. Luke School's mission is to inspire a deep love of learning in students. The Scholars Program fuels academic passion and ambitions by placing students at the helm of learning, referred to by Yavenditti as “the highest form of independent scholarship on the St. Luke’s Hilltop.”
This year’s projects included studies on stoic philosophy and John Steinbeck, creating a 3-D model of St. Luke's, and an analysis of the late 20th-century Balkans War. See the complete list of presentations here
St. Luke’s 2023 Scholars include: 
Classical: Lilly Krongard

Global: Harrison Bennett, Peter Corcoran, Phillip Etergino, Laura Haley, Alex Holtzapffel, Cessa Lewis, Thomas Ross

Literary: Toby Bloch, Peter Cioffi, Ale Lewis, Jane Mathews, Macy Millones, Flynn Partington, Myles Sead, Sofia Shklovsky

STEM: Josephine DeMarco, Grant Douglas, George Foster, Hannah Gunn, Andrew Kress, Maggie Laguzza, Natalie Owsley, Mason Pratt, Matt Riccardi, Kaan Savasoglu, Caleb Seiden, Thomas Skinner
This year’s St. Luke’s Scholar Advisors are:
Classical: Leo Mahler (classics teacher) and Jim Yavenditti (Director of Studies)

Global: Beth Yavenditti (Director of Global Education) and Jason Haynes (US History Department Chair)

Literary: Jennifer Sproule and Susan Doran (English teachers)

 Alec LeBris and John Higgins (science teachers)
For photos from the Scholars Symposium, please click here.

Download our brochure
New call-to-action
St. Luke’s School is a secular (non-religious), private school in New Canaan, CT for grades 5 through 12 serving over 35 towns in Connecticut and New York. Our exceptional academics and diverse co-educational community foster students’ intellectual and ethical development and prepare them for top colleges. St. Luke’s Center for Leadership builds the commitment to serve and the confidence to lead.